4 tips to overcome writer’s block

Write’s block is legit.

We all get it, even super good writers.

Right now I’m even unsure how this will blog will pan out. Hello Mr. Block. You are officially in my way.

Are you familiar with writer’s block? Urban Dictionary says it’s a “temporary psychological inability to begin or continue work on a piece of writing”.

Here are my top 4 tips to show writer’s block who’s boss.

1. Have low expectations for your first 7 sentences. Just write whatever comes to mind, don’t worry about spelling and grammar, just blurt out the first things that come to mind. This works like a kick-starter. You’ll find it less difficult to continue. For example, here’s what it would look like if I were to write an assignment on a potentially dry topic like long-term memory:

Long term memory is great. It helps you remember things that you once heard. Long term memory, oh long term memory gets really good when you do things like keep bringing things up …and if you tell your friends about the memory and if it was super super shocking so it just totally sticks to your brain. 

2. Haemorrhage it out. Once you’ve written your first few sentences, empty your brain out in dot points. Quickly write down all the ideas you have on your mind. E.g. Long-term memory haemorrhaging would look like this:

  • Long term memory gets worse with age
  • It’s bad in old people
  • If something crazy happens, I’ll remember it
  • I remember really sad things and super happy things for ages
  • Seeing a movie over and over again will make it stick in my mind

3. Add in questions. Add questions to your dot points. Questions that may have popped into your mind.

  • Long term memory gets worse with age
  • It’s bad in old people. Is breathing a part of my long term memory? Can I forget to breathe?
  • If something crazy happens, I’ll remember it. Do I remember happy things more than sad things?
  • I remember really sad things and super happy things for ages
  • Seeing a movie over and over again will make it stick in my mind. How do I write a blog post that someone will remember for the rest of their lives?

5. Google examples of what you’re trying to achieve. It’s not plagiarising. Every idea comes from another idea, directly or indirectly. See if you can find inspiration in other essays/assignments/reports/invites/blogs online. Throw down all your new ideas onto your, potentially, blank page.

Best of luck in your writing endeavours.

Edda

Leave me a comment

